#write31days: Day 27 – Overcome

“I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and let your heart take courage, but wait for the Lord.” -Ps. 27:13-14

“I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” -Jn. 16:33

These two scriptures have both been sources of encouragement and strength. A lot of Scripture have that affect but these two…these two have been with me since Mom’s death. I think the reason is because this world was so difficult for Mom to live in; difficult enough that she chose to leave it entirely. If not for the knowledge that Jesus had overcome every imaginable difficulty (and even the unimaginable ones), I think it’s possible that I too could have despaired enough to choose to leave this world behind on my own.

But, instead…

His triumph gives me courage.

His death brings me life.

And His goodness brings me hope.

I wish my mom could have found these same things; perhaps she would still be here today if she had. But I don’t despair because she’s gone. There’s too much goodness in this “land of the living” to focus the awfulness (is that a word?) of her absence.

And, by the blood of the Lamb and the word of my testimony, I will not only see her again but overcome, myself.


EVERY FRIDAY, THE FIVE MINUTE FRIDAY ENCOURAGES BLOGGERS TO FREE-WRITE ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC FOR FIVE MINUTES. AND EVERY OCTOBER, THE WRITE 31 DAYS CHALLENGE TAKES PLACE. COMBINED, THEY TRANSLATE INTO A DAILY, FIVE-MINUTE, FREE-WRITTEN POST ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC. THIS POST IS A PART OF THAT COMBINED CHALLENGE.
Leave a Reply

