#write31days: Day 14 – Try

I want out.

I want out of the full-time-working-for-someone-else gig. I want to be free to do my own thing, in my own way and on my own time. I used to feel selfish and irresponsible for wanting those things. But today, I don’t. Why? Because I believe those desires are not born out of my selfishness but out of how the Lord created me to be and, therefore, cannot be selfish because that is against His character.

I’m stuck, though. It is not financially feasible for me to quit my full-time job at the moment. I can’t just say “sayonara” no matter how much I wish to because we like to eat and have electricity and fuel and pay for our dogs to eat and have AC in the garage where their crates stay.

So, I gotta do something. I gotta find a way out. I don’t know if it’ll be this blogging/writing thing, the itty bitty photography business I’ve strung along for the last five years, the non-profit ministry my husband and I run, the coffee bar I dream about opening one day, a combination of all the above or something else entirely different.

But, I gotta try. I gotta seek the Lord for direction, keep putting one foot in front of the other and see what happens. Becuase there is more to life than working full-time because you have no other choice. Of that, I am sure.


EVERY FRIDAY, THE FIVE MINUTE FRIDAY ENCOURAGES BLOGGERS TO FREE-WRITE ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC FOR FIVE MINUTES. AND EVERY OCTOBER, THE WRITE 31 DAYS CHALLENGE TAKES PLACE. COMBINED, THEY TRANSLATE INTO A DAILY, FIVE-MINUTE, FREE-WRITTEN POST ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC. THIS POST IS A PART OF THAT COMBINED CHALLENGE.
Leave a Reply

