#write31days: Day 9 – Plan

I’m a planner.

I like to look ahead and get an idea of what my next steps should be to get to a certain place or goal. I understand that those steps may change between here and there, but at least I can have some sort of roadmap.

I live with a free spirit, though.

He’s not a planner. He just likes to “go with the flow.” He’s a here-and-now kinda guy.

As you can imagine, this has been interesting when it comes to our finances. He wants to spend everything we make and I want to save it all. He wants to go on vacations. I want to get out of debt. He wants to go out to lunch (and dinner), buy a new gun every 6 months and take a road trip every month. I want to bring a sack lunch and freeze crockpot meals for the month, buy a new gun every 6 years and take a “road trip” to the little town 20 minutes away. He wants to “live life now” and I want to make sure we can “live life later.”

But, you know what? We make it work. We listen to each other, sometimes sternly discuss our differences with each other and then come to an agreement

We listen to each other, sometimes sternly discuss our differences with each other, and then come to an agreement on what might work for the both of us. And, as a result, we’ve paid off 67% of our debt in the last five years AND gone to Ireland, bought a new-to-us car (and a few other things) and even managed to get a decent headstart on our retirement.

I keep him grounded and he reminds me to live.

It’s a good balance.


EVERY FRIDAY, THE FIVE MINUTE FRIDAY ENCOURAGES BLOGGERS TO FREE-WRITE ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC FOR FIVE MINUTES. AND EVERY OCTOBER, THE WRITE 31 DAYS CHALLENGE TAKES PLACE. COMBINED, THEY TRANSLATE INTO A DAILY, FIVE-MINUTE, FREE-WRITTEN POST ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC. THIS POST IS A PART OF THAT COMBINED CHALLENGE.
Leave a Reply

