#write31days: Day 7 – Hold

Do you ever feel like your life is on hold?

Like, there’s something more waiting for you? Maybe you can identify the more, maybe you cannot. Maybe you know what it is that has you “stuck” and maybe you do not. But, regardless of being able to articulate the whys and whats behind it all, you know there’s more. And that there is something holding you back from pursuing that “more.”

I’ve been in that place for a while now. There’s more, I know. But, for now, for whatever reason(s), I’m on hold. Waiting for the elevator music on the other end to cease and a voice to kick in helping me to determine my next move.

It’s a hard place to be but it’s also a good place to be. It forces me to make a choice to believe that I am not alone. That I am not forgotten. That I am not unseen. These are not easy choices for me to make. I have trust issues, you see. But, they’re choices that have to be made, nonetheless. The alternative is not a viable option because I refuse to let my feelings overcome the truth that God sees me. He hears me. And He has not forgotten me.

My feelings are fickle. His character is not.


EVERY FRIDAY, THE FIVE MINUTE FRIDAY ENCOURAGES BLOGGERS TO FREE-WRITE ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC FOR FIVE MINUTES. AND EVERY OCTOBER, THE WRITE 31 DAYS CHALLENGE TAKES PLACE. COMBINED, THEY TRANSLATE INTO A DAILY, FIVE-MINUTE, FREE-WRITTEN POST ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC. THIS POST IS A PART OF THAT COMBINED CHALLENGE.
Leave a Reply

