#write31days: Day 4 – Hope

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a desire fulfilled is a tree of life.” – Pr. 13:12

If I were to be really honest with you, I’d have to say that I hope for lots of things. Financial freedom, chocolate to appear anywhere I am, the opportunity to work for myself one day, and the ability to lose weight while sleeping, just to name a few.

And, each day that these (well, maybe not all of them) things do not come to fruition, my desire to keep working toward them wanes, if only for a moment. I get tired and frustrated and maybe a little bit self-pitying.

But, that doesn’t mean I’ve lost hope. It just means that the hope isn’t impervious to my human selfishness.

However, it also means that hope is strong enough to overcome those human feelings. Hope continues to exist. And that helps me push through one more month of debt snowballing and one more day of the 8-5 world. And, yes, even another morning of zero weight loss.

Because, one day, these hopes will be fulfilled. And, oh…what a glorious day that will be!


EVERY FRIDAY, THE FIVE MINUTE FRIDAY ENCOURAGES BLOGGERS TO FREE-WRITE ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC FOR FIVE MINUTES. AND EVERY OCTOBER, THE WRITE 31 DAYS CHALLENGE TAKES PLACE. COMBINED, THEY TRANSLATE INTO A DAILY, FIVE-MINUTE, FREE-WRITTEN POST ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC. THIS POST IS A PART OF THAT COMBINED CHALLENGE.
One thought on “#write31days: Day 4 – Hope

Leave a Reply

