#Write31Days: Challenge Accepted!

October is always an interesting month. In this part of the world, it’s usually the time that the Fall season actually starts making an appearance. Yay! Although, it’s also not uncommon to see 90+ degree weather during the month either so…maybe I’m a liar. Boo.

But October is also the month that a lot of bloggers join in on a writing challenge. It’s a challenge to write every. single. day. for a whole month. …yeah, for real.

And, this year, I’m no different. I’m joining in on the challenge. And, I’mma do my best to stick the challenge out even if I am already a day behind. I’m just not gonna focus on that because grace, right? Grace.

Anyway, back to the challenge.

As you can tell, I struggle with writing. Which is funny because I actually really enjoy writing. I just can’t seem to do it very frequently IRL or on this blog. I’m a writer that doesn’t write. Go figure. So, though I’d love to say that this challenge is more for you – my nonexistent readers – the truth of the matter is that is for me. All me. It’s for me to see if I can actually write consistently. Ever. Because if I can’t do it with a simple (haha, “simple”…right!) little challenge like this, then I’m not sure there is hope for me ever doing it on my own in the future.

To help me do this, I’m joining a specific group of bloggers who are also doing this 31-day writing challenge. This Five Minute Friday group writes on a specific prompt for five minutes flat every Friday and then posts those free-written thoughts on their blogs. I’ll be doing the same thing every day, not just Fridays. Should be easy, right? ….right.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m excited! But I’m also a bit skeptical. The realistic side of me is screaming bloody murder right now. I haven’t written since February. FEB-RU-A-RY. What makes me think I’m going to write for 31 days straight now?! I mean, I kinda sorta did this 31-day challenge a couple of years ago but only got in about half of the posts. There’s not a wholelotta confidence flowing through me right now.

BUT.

That’s not going to stop me from trying or from giving it my best effort. And isn’t that all we can really ask of ourselves in anything in our lives?

So, without further ado (adieu?), I am officially announcing “challenge accepted!” and jumping in with both…hands (you know, for typing). My hope is that the posts still end up being encouraging for others if only because I manage to keep up my end of the bargain and post every day. 🙂

1

Each day, I’ll do my best to link up that day’s post below. Fingers crossed!

Five Minute Friday’s 2017 #Write31Days Challenge Prompts:

  1. Worship
  2.  Tell
  3. Create
  4. Hope
  5. Trust
  6. Story (Weekly FMF Prompt)
  7. Hold
  8. Truth
  9. Plan
  10. Listen
  11. Remember
  12. Write
  13. Invite (Weekly FMF Prompt)
  14. Try
  15. Remain
  16. Read
  17. Grow
  18. Share
  19. Brave
  20. Weekly FMF Prompt
  21. Give
  22. Light
  23. Work
  24. Revise
  25. Because
  26. Change
  27. Weekly FMF Prompt
  28. Connect
  29. Follow
  30. Refine
  31. Rest

EVERY FRIDAY, THE FIVE MINUTE FRIDAY ENCOURAGES BLOGGERS TO FREE-WRITE ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC FOR FIVE MINUTES. AND EVERY OCTOBER, THE WRITE 31 DAYS CHALLENGE TAKES PLACE. COMBINED, THEY TRANSLATE INTO A DAILY, FIVE-MINUTE, FREE-WRITTEN POST ON A SPECIFIC TOPIC. THIS POST IS A PART OF THAT COMBINED CHALLENGE

 

One thought on “#Write31Days: Challenge Accepted!

Leave a Reply

