The Courage to Pursue

The other day I did something new. I posted my first Facebook Ad!

fbad

This may not sound like big news to you but, for me, it’s huge. Why? Because it took courage. I announced – “to the masses” – that I not only had new wedding photography packages but that, by default, I also had a photography business. I put myself out there. And, for me that’s a pretty big deal.

I don’t like putting myself out there. Maybe it’s the INFJ in me or maybe it’s because I don’t always do so well with criticism or maybe it’s just because I’m a chicken, but the idea of announcing to the world that I’m doing anything – whether it’s writing, photographing, ministering, coaching or even just sharing my opinion – kinda makes me want to crawl in a hole. I’m concerned someone’s not gonna like what I say, what I do or why I do it and that can make this INFJ personality shrivel up and disappear.

I know I shouldn’t care. I shouldn’t let other people’s opinions affect me.

But, I also know I’m human and the truth is that the opinions of others does affect me.

I think what matters is not letting those opinions keep me from doing, saying or pursuing what I want or am called to do. And that is why I’m proud of myself for posting the Ad. That is why it feels like a big deal to me. I was apprehensive in clicking the “Promote” button that sends the Ad off into cyberspace to do its promotional thing. In fact, Scott may have had to put his hand on mine and “help” me click the button the first time (the first time, the post failed to send; so I had to do it all AGAIN and then get the courage to click the button a second time! Agony!). Yes, I was apprehensive. But I did it.

And, who knows, maybe I’ll even get a new photography client because of it. But, even if I don’t, running the Ad was worth it because I grew just a little more brave in pursuing one of the interests that I have.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

