Love God. Love People.

A few years ago, while managing a local coffee shop, I sat down to put together the schedule for the upcoming pay period. I was in my late 20s and had just moved back to my hometown after living in a different state for a year. I had no idea why I’d moved home, honestly, except that I felt like it was what the Lord had led me to do.

In those days, I often wondered what the purpose of my life was.
Frequently, I would ask myself two questions:

Who am I?
What am I doing here?

To say that those two questions haunted my early twenties would be an understatement. I could not get away from them. In my waking and my sleeping. In my resting and my working. In my crying and my laughing. In my everything, they were there.

Nudging me. Poking me. Pestering me. Perhaps not every day, but a few times a week and multiple times each month, I would sense theses questions lingering on the edges of my mind.

That day in the coffee shop was no different.

Except that it was.

On that day, I felt an answer come in reply to the questions. It was one of those out-of-the-blue, you-know-it-didn’t-come-from-you type answers. I wasn’t praying. I wasn’t worshiping. I wasn’t even reading the Bible. I was working. I was just doing “life” and, still, my Father chose to meet with me and speak to me. He said, “…love the Lord your God with all your heart…” and “…love your neighbor as yourself….”

[pullquote width=”300″ float=”left”]“…love the Lord your God with all your heart…” and “…love your neighbor as yourself…” (Matt. 22:37-40, ESV)[/pullquote]

I’ve been a Christian all of my life. I’d heard this verse many, many, many times before that day, but I’d never heard it directly from Him. And when I did, I understood three things. I am His (otherwise, I would not be bound to follow His commands). And my purpose here is to love Him and love others.

That’s it. That’s all I am ultimately here for. And if I can focus on those three truths when life doesn’t make sense, I can find myself and my direction again.

As you go through your life, I hope that you can find comfort in those same truths as well.

You are His. Love Him and love others.

[line]

18 Matthew 22 37 (1)

I am thrilled to be featured in Sweet to the Soul’s #LoveIs series today! Go on over there and check out all the great posts!

Leave a Reply

