#write31days: homecoming

My Alma Mater’s Homecoming is this weekend!

Attending Abilene Christian University was one of the best decisions I ever made in my life. I have honestly loved ACU since high school. I started coming to campus as a high school freshman after I was accepted into the university’s chapter of the Upward Bound program. I loved walking around the campus, pretending I was one of the college students heading to class or to the library to study or to the campus center to meet up with some friends. Yes, I was a bit of a dork, but it’s true. It was actually through one of my summer Upward Bound sessions that I learned about, read about and saw my favorite musical ever: Les Miserables.

However, just like any other high school senior, I didn’t really want to attend college in my hometown. So, ACU wasn’t initially on my radar for universities. I was looking to get out not stay put. But, the Lord is good and He had a plan and that plan was for me to stay put and attend this small, private university in the middle of West Texas.

As a student, I got pretty involved in some of the extra-curricular activities on campus. Things like social club, Sing Song, Homecoming Steering Committee, Welcome Week Steering Committee and other social activities were par-for-the-course in my college career. I also managed to work 30 hours and carry a full-time class load. How?! I have no idea. I don’t remember sleeping that much, but … eh. It was worth it!

I learned a lot about myself while walking the campus of the university. I learned more about who I was and who I wasn’t, what I wanted and what I didn’t, where I came from and where I was going. There were lots of times I didn’t think I would make it to graduation and I was certain that my professors were going to call me into their office one day to say that I just wasn’t cutting it. But there were also many days where I knew that I was going to make something of myself in the future. I was challenged & encouraged simultaneously by multiple professors who refused to let me off easy but were gracious in their pushing. And, my faith blossomed into something that was mine – not my mother’s – while under the faithful ringing of the bell tower.

I suppose it is of no surprise that I now work for this university that has had such a large impact on my life. And I am thrilled to be attending this weekend’s Homecoming.

5 thoughts on “#write31days: homecoming

  1. Some intriguing images here, any one of which could become a full separate note. On days when you feel you have nothing to say, come back to these older notes and you will likely pull out a thread of a story you were about to tell. I sense that you restrain yourself a lot, because there is so much hidden emotional under current. Yes, we can feel it ; ) I know that it’s hard to tap into those feelings all the way sometimes as you may feel like they will suck you under and you will drown. But you won’t. Don’t be afraid to go there, a little deeper. This kind of writing is always about ourselves, our personal experiences are always going to be our reference points. But it’s not narcissism. It’s the human experience we all share. It’s your authentic voice. Keep going! The rhythm is there. So proud of you for posting all week so far! Hope I’m not commenting too much…just want to keep encouraging you! Come on everyone else! If you are reading Brandi’s posts give her a word now and then! It doesn’t matter what you say, just say something! Every runner needs a crowd cheering them on!

    Like

    • No. You are most certainly not commenting too much, Suzanne! I love reading your comments because you do encourage me so very much. Even more so with tonight’s comments. And, I think I am going to write a response to something you said as tonight’s post. That ok? 🙂

      Like

    • p.s. you really should think about (sharing your?) writing yourself. I love some of the thoughts you provoke within me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

