#write31days: lazy sundays

It’s been a lazy Sunday.

Do you ever have one of those? I do. In fact, more and more these days I am intentionally trying to allow Sundays to be as lazy as possible. It’s one of the things I love to do.

Having one day a week to worship…and then relax…is good for my soul. It’s not that I do absolutely nothing on Sundays. It’s just that I only do things that don’t tax me or things that fulfill me. Everything else is off limits.

I fight for my Sundays, too. I do a lot during the week and on Saturdays to allow for my Sundays. Sometimes I don’t get everything done and do end up having to do “stuff” on Sunday. But, more often than not these days, I manage to keep Sunday sacred even if that means I simply choose to leave what didn’t get done by Saturday to Monday.

If you never have a lazy Sunday (or maybe it’s a Monday? or Tuesday? …whatever one day a week that you can claim), you should start. Give yourself that grace. It might take time to work up to a full day of not doing “big” things so start small. But do start. Make it a couple of hours, then a half a day, then maybe three-quarters of one…. [pullquote width=”300″ float=”left”]Take a day just to be more than to do.[/pullquote]

But, get to where you’re taking a day to just be more than to do.

It’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

